Churchill United Soccer Club - 2022

With the 2022 Latrobe Valley Soccer League competition drawing to a close, the Churchill United Soccer Club have held their Junior and Senior presentations to celebrate and acknowledge the individual and team efforts from players, coaches and volunteers across the club.

Senior Presentation

On Saturday October 8, Churchill United Soccer Club held it’s 2022 Senior Presentation night at the Morwell Club.

Paul Riess, Dean Pyle and William McGrath were inducted as 20 Season Club members, while Trevor Riess became the 22nd Life Member for Churchill United Soccer Club.

The evening honoured several volunteers which recognises and celebrates the impact volunteers have on the delivery of soccer programs at CUSC. The recipients of these volunteer awards were nominated and awarded based on their notable contributions and service to club.


Tom Sands Junior Volunteer of the Year Kelly Bianconi

Senior Volunteer of the Year Ronald Wilson

Triangle Trophy Centre Dedication Award Tracey Tabone

Junior Club-person of the Year Ryley Tabone

Senior Club-person of the Year Matthew Tabone

The traditional on-field recognition awards were presented with recipients awarded with a trophy. The final three rounds of the vote count were a nail biter in both the reserves and senior divisions. Andrew Tyrrell took home the reserves Best and Fairest by two points to Ricky Moyle. While in the seniors it came down to Mitch Azlin, who consistently received votes throughout the season and Lachlan Huizer, who accumulated the majority of his votes in the second half of the season. With only two points the difference coming between them at the end of the round 15, the duo ended up finishing on 50 votes each to both take home the title of Seniors Best and Fairest. Receiving nine votes in the last round secured Aidan Huizer’s position as Runner Up Best and Fairest.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the on-field awards that were awarded for 2022.


Golden Boot William McGrath (6 goals)

Coaches Award Ryan Schopp

Player’s Player Andrew Tyrrell

Runner-up Best and Fairest Ricky Moyle

Best and Fairest Andrew Tyrrell

Senior Mens

Golden Boot Samuel Di Ciero (6 goals)

Most Determined Mitch Azlin

Player’s Player Lachlan Huizer

Runner-up Best and Fairest Aidan Huizer

Best and Fairest Mitch Azlin and Lachlan Huizer

In honour of the late David Breheny who suddenly passed earlier this year the Most Dedicated Trainer awards were reinstated for the first time since 1987. Dave was a recipient of this award back when he was a player. Dave was an active member within the club this year as his son Jack, plays in the under 13’s team. Lachlan Huizer was the recipient of the Dave Breheny Most Dedicated Trainer Award, who across both teams in the mens’ squad was a player who was not only dedicated to turning up and attending training but displayed dedication to the efforts in applying himself during training.

Life Membership

At our Senior Presentation night, the club awarded Life Membership to Trevor Riess (more commonly known as Trev or T-Rex) in recognition of his outstanding dedication to soccer in Churchill.

With his dearly departed father Gerry (also a Life Member) playing and coaching at the club for over five decades, Trev quite literally grew up at the Paddock with siblings Alyson, Stephen, and Paul.

Trev spent time on the pitch as a player and won many accolades including League Championships and Cups, but it is his time off the pitch where he has made his greatest contribution to the club.

Trev found his niche in coaching and selflessly led the Under 16s team for over 10 years, winning several League Championships and Cups whilst blooding many future senior players. This shows Trevor’s commitment to the future of our club, working tirelessly to make an impact on these children’s futures as players but importantly as good human beings.

Trev loves CUSC and he is never afraid to give his opinion to the opposition or the officials, mostly rightly, and sometimes wrongly, but always from a place of passion for the best interests of the club.

Trev stepped away from coaching and turned his focus to administration, being our club President for five years. Trev was a driving force who helped re-establish the LVSL when it was clear the wider GSL was not meeting the local club’s needs.

Over the last few years, Trev has returned to the coaching ranks, taking on the U13 team alongside close friend Mitch Azlin, as well as picking up coaching duties in the LVSL Representative teams. Returning to impact the next group of juniors coming through our club and the wider soccer scene locally.

Trev becomes the 22nd Life Member of the Churchill United Soccer Club – recognition for his enormous contribution and dedication over the journey, and for his passionate support of our soccer club and community.

Congratulations Trevor!

Junior Presentation

On Saturday September 17, all Churchill United Soccer Club’s junior players, members, mums and dads, grandmas and grandpas and volunteers united at Hazelwood South Reserve, to celebrate all the individual and team accomplishments and acknowledge the valiant efforts of our volunteers which enables us to facilitate our winter soccer competition.

Mother nature looked out for us and kept the rain at bay for as long as it could, with the rain only beginning to fall at the conclusion of the awards ceremony. The day commenced with the junior players playing small-sided games among one anther before they united together and played against their parents. Dividing into diverse groups, teams then took to the pitch to play a rotation of traditional field games, such as: ball toss, under-over, sack races, obstacle course, score the goal, to score as many points as possible for their team. While the final tally was being counted, everyone enjoyed a BBQ lunch before the official awards ceremony commenced.

The awards ceremony allowed us to personally thank all our coaches, team managers, shirt washers, fruit cutters, linesmen, canteen helpers and every single person who has allowed this junior season to go ahead. After a stop start season last year, the club was able to celebrate the achievement of having a full season back out on the park and seeing so many improvements across our teams. Congratulations to our award winners, where not only individual abilities were recognised but honour to those of determination and sportsmanship.


Best and Fairest - Jessica Macgregor

Runner Up Best and Fairest - Harry Forbes

Most Committed - Callum Sennett

Player’s Player - Jessica Macgregor


Best and Fairest - Tyson Stephens

Runner Up Best and Fairest - Chantel Stephens

Most Improved - Ryley Tabone

U11 Girls

Best and Fairest - Shayla Dowd

Runner Up Best and Fairest - Lilly Johnson

Most Improved - Evie-Maree Crocker

U11 Black Division

Best and Fairest - Billy Breheny

Runner Up Best and Fairest - Edward Forbes

Most Improved - Riley De Figueiredo

U11 Purple Division

Best and Fairest - Blake Breheny

Runner Up Best and Fairest - Reed Paterson

Most Improved - Cody Samblebe

U9 Churchill United

Best and Fairest - Bailee Clam

Runners Up Best and Fairest - Rhys Eden

Coaches Award - Finn Brown

U9 Churchill Red

Best and Fairest - Mason Crawford

Runner Up Best and Fairest - Charlie Visser

Coaches Award - Jayden McDonnell

U9 Churchill Silver

Best and Fairest - Billy Breheny

Runner Up Best and Fairest - Noah Sanders

Most Consistent - Edward Forbes

For more news about Churchill United Soccer Club, visit:

RAMS soccer team photos for 2022